Home

Exercise: Architectural Illustration

I started off this exercise by going through some of the previous architectural illustrations i’ve done in the past. Here are some examples

Scan 29 Scan 2 Scan IMG_1691  IMG_0987 IMG_0718

 

Then from Looking out of my studio window, i drew the first building I saw. This was just to get myself into the architectural illustrating mood. I live on the 12th floor and this building is right outside my window. I didnt draw it to scale nor did I follow any perspective rules.

CAID 1

I started to think about the architecture in Thailand and the juxtaposition of the old more traditional homes compared to all the new emerging modern condos we see today. So I started doodling to help me brainstorm.

CAID 2

I see the old and new all the time in bangkok, but most often when I take a boat down the river. There are so many old homes right on the river where a really nice condo or hotel will also be. Some of the houses look as if they are just going to collapse into the water with the next wave. I googled images because its such a long trip to head to the river and I dont have a lot of time to go to sketch. I was thinking of showing the contrast of the water with the contrast of the old houses. Most people enjoy living on land so I thought this would make a nice image.

CAID 3

I went through some of the images that I have taken and posted on instagram.

Screen Shot 2015-11-11 at 5.44.51 PM Screen Shot 2015-11-11 at 5.44.26 PM Screen Shot 2015-11-11 at 5.44.11 PM Screen Shot 2015-11-11 at 5.43.48 PM Screen Shot 2015-11-05 at 2.41.45 PM

Then I tried sketching a few out to see if there was anything that caught my interest. I chose to use one of the images as an inspiration for my final illustration. I chose this image because it had two things special about it. The first is that it isn’t occupied and had all the foliage coming out of the window. The second is the mess of wires that surround the property. It reminds me of two different jungles. A leafy one and one of wires and manmade lines and cables that take over our cities. But in this instance, natural and organic life has still found a way to take over.

CAID 4

I chose to use my colored fine tip pens for this image. I used them in an assignment previously and I had good feedback from my tutor. Because I didn’t want to worry about perspective or proportions being exact I thought this style of mark making would give the image a playful look. I didn’t want it to look like it comes out of an architectural magazine, but instead an illustration magazine.

CAID

 

On Adobe Photoshop, I played with colors, added textures and tried to clean up the image a little bit.

Screen Shot 2015-11-11 at 4.05.44 PM Screen Shot 2015-11-11 at 4.04.31 PM Screen Shot 2015-11-11 at 4.01.33 PM Screen Shot 2015-11-11 at 3.42.21 PM

 

Screen Shot 2015-11-11 at 4.05.44 PM

 

For some reason, this color combination really spoke out to me. I think it could be because the wires and leaves ended up being the same colors so the contrast of the two of them id really the two forces combining to contrast against the building instead.

Leave a Reply

