Home

Exercise: Self-Publishing

After looking at different forms self publishing I thought about one that I had kept in my keepsake box from my time living in Hong Kong. My sister and her boyfriend are in a band together and they were featured in the Zine. I pulled it out and scanned a few images of it. Its mostly typed and collage work then photocopied double sided and stapled together. I think they charged like $1-2 USD to raise funds for a charity.

 

ZINE 9ZINE 11 ZINE 10

 

 

I also decided to use the band since i have previous illustrations of them in my sketchbook.

SKETCH2015 19SKETCH2015 17SKETCH2015 16

SHATALENE ZINE BRAINSTORM

 

I started to brainstorm a zine made purely for the band. Since the band name is SHATALENE I thought about rhyming. Shatalene-Zine  If you pronounce zine “zeen”

 

I figured I could interview the members of the band and get upcoming information about shows, gigs or any other exciting news coming up.

ZINE 8ZINE 7

 

I wasnt happy with my first sketches for the zine so I redid them below.

 

ZINE ZINE 1 ZINE 2ZINE 4

I sent over some interview questions and they both answered them for me. This would be the text that I would use in my zine. Iw asnt sure if I woul dhave it typed out or hand written in the final. Or whether the zine would be digital or printed. But because my printer is broken I decided I would just make it into a digital copy for now that could easily be uploaded to their FB page or  a PDF downloaded from their band website.

Screen Shot 2016-04-06 at 7.15.04 PM

For the cover i decided to use separate images of them and on photoshop i merged them together. Then printed (on my printer that doesn’t print colors the way you would expect!) and drew over it with my pens to keep the hand drawn theme running.

ZINE 3

After putting together the text and imagery on photoshop, I ended up with a completed Zine

coverpage who

nat1 nat2shaun page4

guitar

THE PDF VERSION BELOW

SHATALENEZINE

 

I think the Hong Kong music scene would be interested in this work. Because its quite a small scene for the western/expat musicians in HK, alot of people know each other. I could possibly continue to do this for other bands in HK or continue to do it for my sisters band. Since this was a self promoting issue, maybe the next ones could be more about other bands that they admire and maybe they can be the ones to interview them, But im still the illustrator.

 

EDIT

 

Because of this Zine, my sister and her fiancé have decided to use these illustrations as abase for their wedding website. 

Leave a Reply

