Home

Exercise: Pixelated images

 

To begin this assignment I thought about a website that I visited a few years ago that do wall decals of pixelated images. You can pick from their stock or create your own. They then send individual squares and connecters so that you can put it together yourself to create wall art. I always wanted to do it but couldn’t find a wall in my home to put something up.

http://www.ixxidesign.com/en/

http://www.ixxidesign.com/en/products/ixxi-images/pixel/art/

LucaHalma_840x840Screen Shot 2016-04-11 at 1.47.49 PMScreen Shot 2016-04-11 at 1.49.28 PM Screen Shot 2016-04-11 at 1.49.37 PM

When thinking about my relationship with technology. I tried to think of the love/hate relationship. So I thought about how my computer sometimes shows me its under distress by icons that I now recognize as ‘uh oh- not good’ So I thought about pixelating those images. I started with the “spinning wheel of death”

CS4f2mqWsAAbMcRScreen Shot 2016-04-11 at 12.39.45 PMsafe-boot

When I thought about my history and past of these icons, i started to google them and realized that most of them are pixelated anyway! So I obviously had to drop this project.

 

Bomb_5x5 hourglass

sad_mac3

I started to collect images of all my computers past. We were always an apple family. my dad loves tech so we had the first apple computer that took 25 minutes to start up and didn’t really do much for me. I just went on and played with paint when I was little. but I still remember the excitement of it all.

Apple-iMacapple-macintosh-1984-history 05ibook14_side imac-24inchmacbook-pro-for-collegeapple_me086ll_a_21_5_imac_desktop_computer_1006607

 

I also thought about the handheld devices of my past and present. Funnily enough when thinking about all the hand held devices. A lot of them where yellow, so i went with that theme. And since I wanted to keep a limited palette that applied to each image, I thought this would be a good place to begin.

n64_controller_yellowMotorola-i530

walkman6_1436164i 515W9DBKN5L._SX300_mzpzqAnVHztow_WxJUQX6xg

 

I decided to pixelate them on the computer first before going to hand drawn because that way I could visualize the images first.

I looked up on youtube how to create my own pixelated images on photoshop.It was so super easy to do. You can also change the sizes of the squares.

Screen Shot 2016-04-11 at 12.34.48 PMScreen Shot 2016-04-11 at 12.42.30 PM

Screen Shot 2016-04-11 at 12.28.55 PM

After using the filter you get an image like this…..Screen Shot 2016-04-11 at 12.42.51 PM

 

So I then did this to all the images and then put them in a canvas size that was all the same as the rest. This way they sit in the composition the same so it looks more like a series.

cellpixel2 discmanpixel2 Gameboypixel nintendo2 walkmanpixel2 walktalkpixel2

 

At this point I decided not to create these by hand. i think it would be time consuming with out getting better results. It looks better done digitally. Its difficult to keep lines straight and my painting/drawing style is not suited to make perfectly straight lines.

However, I did want this to have a little bit of my style so I added the texture that I usually do to my artwork. I think this really made them look like posters that you could buy.

cellpixel discmanpixel Gameboypixel2 nintendo walkmanpixel walktalkpixel

 

I put them all together on one composition but I think they work better as separates.

I also changed the color around to see if I they looked better as another color. I think they do, but yellow also looks good and I relate to it closely since I actually had these items in my home.

pixelcombi Screen Shot 2016-04-11 at 1.25.35 PM

Screen Shot 2016-04-11 at 1.25.00 PMScreen Shot 2016-04-11 at 1.25.18 PM

I decided to keep the yellow for the final pieces. You can see them larger below.

 

cellpixel walktalkpixel walkmanpixel nintendo Gameboypixel2 discmanpixel

 

 

Leave a Reply

